x-book ®

Midnight’s Twins

Listen to a sample

What to expect

‘Wildly imaginative … A brilliant combination of urban fantasy and Arthurian legend, Midnight’s Twins will appeal to fans of Gaiman’s Neverwhere or Schwab’s A Darker Shade Of Magic.’ Katharine Corr, author of A THRONE OF SWANS

‘A highly imaginative urban fantasy.’ Bex Hogan, author of ISLES OF STORM AND SORROW

‘Lyrical writing, powerful politics and epic world-building, Race’s Midnight’s Twins is a unique and vivid story of hope and belonging’ Michelle Kenney, author of BOOK OF FIRE

Dreams come true, but so do your nightmares …

Fern King is about to uncover a place that she could not have imagined in all her wildest dreams. Annwn is the dream mirror of our world, a place where Dreamers walk in their slumber, their dreams playing out all around them. An enchanted, mysterious place that feeds our own world – as without dreams, without a place where our imaginations and minds can be nourished, what kind of humans would we be?

But Annwn is a place as full of dangers as it is wonders: it is a place where dreams can kill you. Annwn and its Dreamers are protected by an ancient order known as the Knights – and when Fern’s hated twin Ollie is chosen to join their ranks, Fern will have to do whatever she can to prove she is one of them too.

But the world Fern discovers in Annwn, in this dream mirror of her London, is a fragile one, threatened by vicious nightmares. Nightmares that are harder and harder for the Knights to defeat. Something dark is jeopardising the peace and stability of Annwn, something that must be rooted out at all costs. And gradually, Fern realises that the danger lurking inside our sleep is more insidious and terrifying than any nightmare. Because if you can influence someone’s dreams, you can control their thoughts …

Critics Review

  • Lyrical writing, powerful politics, & epic world-building, Race’s Midnight’s Twins is a unique and vivid story of hope & belonging, I couldn’t put it down

    Michelle Kenney
  • Midnight’s Twins had me gripped from the very first line. It’s wildly imaginative, and I love that it’s focused on the sibling bond (Fern and Ollie completely captured my heart!) and set in an alternative, dreamscaped London. The world building is excellent – the streets and inhabitants of Annwn really came to life in Race’s prose. A brilliant combination of urban fantasy and Arthurian legend, Midnight’s Twins will appeal to fans of Gaiman’s Neverwhere or Schwab’s A Darker Shade Of Magic.

    Katherine Corr
  • Holly Race’s debut novel is a complex, inventive fantasy adventure that builds suspense and holds our attention…Race is an author to watch

    BOOKS FOR KEEPS
  • A gripping YA fantasy that plunges the reader into a nightmarish mirror world where dreams can literally kill you. I could not put it down.

    Elizabeth Corr

More from the same

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.