What to expect

The brand new novel from the critically-acclaimed author of Snow Foal.
A beautiful and heart-wrenching middle grade debut for kids aged 9 to 12, set in the beautiful wilds of a remote Scottish island. Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Cathy Cassidy, Tarka the Otter and Gill Lewis.

Luke hates his life. His dad is busy with a shiny replacement family and his mum has insisted they spend their holiday on a remote Scottish island.

Then Luke meets Meg, who lives with her grandfather in a boarded-up boat house on the beach. And when together they rescue an otter pup that they name Willow, a chink of light appears in Luke’s dark and lonely days.

But danger lurks behind the beauty of Puffin Bay – and soon Luke must depend upon Willow for his very survival …

Critics Review

  • REVIEWS FOR SNOW FOAL:

    ‘I absolutely love Snow Foal – it’s so truthful, tender and touching. A book to read in a day and remember for a lifetime’ (Dame Jacqueline Wilson, author of Tracy Beaker)

    ‘A beautiful book with a big heart’ (Gill Lewis, author of Sky Hawk)

    ‘How much my daughter and I enjoyed Snow Foal! It’s a gripping sensitively written book’ (Jenny McLachlan, author of The Land of Roar)

    ‘A mesmerising new voice about a girl that deserves to be heard’ (Joanna Nadin)

    ‘One of my most highly-anticipated reads of the year’ (Hana Tooke, author of The Unadoptables)

    Snow Foal shines out with compassion and understanding for the children at its heart. Susanna’s writing is delicate and beautifully understated’ (Julia Green)

    ‘A tender, lyrical tale for a cold winter’s night that will lift the spirits and warm the heart’ (Steve Voake)

    REVIEWS FOR OTTERS’ MOON

    ‘A beautiful story, immersed in the wild and restorative power of nature. I loved it’ (Gill Lewis, author of Sky Hawk)

    ‘An excellent book – haunting and lovely. A delightful work of art’ (Anthony McGowan)

    ‘Sue writes with sensitivity and understanding about two children struggling to navigate complex emotions and situations’ (Julia Green)

More from the same

Author

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.