What to expect

The brand new novel from the critically-acclaimed author of Snow Foal and Otters’ Moon.

Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Gill Lewis.

‘A mesmerising voice’ – Joanna Nadin

A brand new novel from Susanna Bailey – the bestselling author of Snow Foal and a new star of middle grade contemporary fiction.

Ever since Billie’s kind and nature-loving dad went to prison, her life has lost its shine. And now, Mum’s new boyfriend has moved in and home is full of sharp-glass silences. Billie’s never felt more alone.
 
Until one day she discovers an injured young raven and in nursing him back to life, Billie finds friendship, hope and a letter that might bring her one step closer to reuniting with Dad.

Raven Winter is the story of friendship, family and the belief in a very special relationship with a young raven set against the beautiful and the wintery backdrop of the Yorkshire Dales.

Critics Review

  • REVIEWS FOR SNOW FOAL

    ‘I absolutely love Snow Foal – it’s so truthful, tender and touching. A book to read in a day and remember for a lifetime’ (Dame Jacqueline Wilson, author of Tracy Beaker)

    ‘A beautiful book with a big heart’ (Gill Lewis, author of Sky Hawk)

    ‘How much my daughter and I enjoyed Snow Foal! It’s a gripping sensitively written book’ (Jenny McLachlan, author of The Land of Roar)

    ‘A mesmerising new voice about a girl that deserves to be heard’ (Joanna Nadin)

    ‘One of my most highly-anticipated reads of the year’ (Hana Tooke, author of The Unadoptables)

    Snow Foal shines out with compassion and understanding for the children at its heart. Susanna’s writing is delicate and beautifully understated’ (Julia Green)

    ‘A tender, lyrical tale for a cold winter’s night that will lift the spirits and warm the heart’ (Steve Voake)

    REVIEWS FOR OTTERS’ MOON

    ‘A beautiful story, immersed in the wild and restorative power of nature. I loved it’ (Gill Lewis, author of Sky Hawk)

    ‘An excellent book – haunting and lovely. A delightful work of art’ (Anthony McGowan)

    ‘Sue writes with sensitivity and understanding about two children struggling to navigate complex emotions and situations’ (Julia Green)

More from the same

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.