The Odin Mission

Listen to a sample

What to expect

From the pen of bestselling author and historian comes this action-packed page-turner of a wartime thriller. Jam-packed with sharp dialogue, dynamic and authentic scenes and unforgettable characterisation, this is perfect for fans of Robert Harris, Bernard Cornwell and Ken Follett.

‘Tanner is a chiselled protagonist straight out of the pages of the old Commando comics…Destined to be a series that will run and run.’ — Mail On Sunday

Sharpe for the Blitz years…The Odin Mission is a meaty, all-action yarn’ – Sunday Telegraph
‘A breezy, action packed, page turning, ripper of a yarn’ — ***** Reader review
‘I just couldn’t put it down’ — ***** Reader review
‘A cracking tale’ — ***** Reader review
‘Top class’ — ***** Reader review
***********************************************************************************
April 1940. The Nazi Blitzkrieg delivers a hammer blow to defenceless Norway.

The few remaining British troops retreat in the fact of a remorseless German advance. For Sergeant Jack Tanner and his stranded patrol, it is a desperate rearguard action.

With the odds stacked against them and the temperature dropping fast, they are not only fighting for their lives, but also to protect a mysterious Norwegian professor in whose hands lies the outcome of the war.

To survive, Tanner must outfox and outfight the pursuing Nazis who are desperate for the secrets the Norwegian holds. They will stop at nothing to secure them. . .

Jack Tanner’s adventures continue in Darkest Hour.

Critics Review

  • Plenty of action… sharp dialogue and swift characterisation. The whole is intelligently structured so that this is absorbing and thoughtful as well as tense and exciting

    Daily Telegraph
  • Old-fashioned, testosterone-fuelled escapism and Tanner is a chiselled protagonist straight out of the pages of the old Commando comics… Destined to be a series that will run and run

    Mail on Sunday
  • Sharpe for the Blitz years… The Odin Mission is a meaty, all-action yarn

    Sunday Telegraph
  • A good old-fashioned action hero makes his appearance in this page-turning thriller, the first of a planned series of Second World War novels featuring Sergeant Jack Tanner… James Holland, a respected military historian, has produced a story authentic in every detail

    Telegraph

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.