The Recovery of Rose Gold

Listen to a sample

What to expect

Brought to you by Penguin.

A chilling exploration into obsession, reconciliation and revenge in 2020’s must-read novel.

Rose Gold Watts believed she was sick for eighteen years.

She thought she needed the feeding tube, the surgeries, the wheelchair . . .

Turns out her mum, Patty, is a really good liar.

After five years in prison Patty Watts is finally free. All she wants is to put old grievances behind her, reconcile with her daughter – and care for her new infant grandson. When Rose Gold agrees to have Patty move in, it seems their relationship is truly on the mend.

But Rose Gold knows her mother. Patty won’t rest until she has her daughter back under her thumb. Which is inconvenient because Rose Gold wants to be free of Patty. Forever.

Only one Watts will get what she wants.

Will it be Patty or Rose Gold?

Mother, or daughter?

© Stephanie Wrobel 2020 (P) Penguin Audio 2020

Critics Review

  • An absolutely brilliant book; funny, dark, authentic and a total page turner. I loved it

    Lisa Jewell, bestselling author of The Family Upstairs
  • Sensationally good – two complex characters power the story like a nuclear reaction, and won’t let you forget them. Wrobel is one to watch.

    Lee Child
  • A rivetingly nasty psychological duel

    Sunday Times
  • With a genuine menace seeping from every twist and turn, the two central characters inhabit every page with captivating ferocity, and the denouement is worthy of Patricia Highsmith at her finest: quite superb

    Daily Mail
  • Pacey and vivid, this is a delicate, merciless probing of a topicas unsettling as it is intriguing, with no pat answers

    The Guardian
  • A spine-chilling thriller injected with themes of obsession and revenge . . . Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl and Paula Hawkin’s The Girl on the Train, The Recovery of Rose Gold is set to be next year’s biggest thriller

    Stylist

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.