x-book ®

This is Not a Book About Benedict Cumberbatch

Listen to a sample

What to expect

For fans of Caitlin Moran and Anne Helen Petersen, this is an exceptionally funny memoir and manifesto about what it’s like to reclaim your sense of joy and discovery in midlife (even when it takes the form of strange-looking actors with funny names).

Tabitha was a perfectly normal, 40-ish year-old new mother when she became completely and utterly infatuated with British actor, Benedict Cumberbatch.

But, as the title suggests, this isn’t about him. Rather Tabitha uses it as a springboard to bring into question and examine women and identity, female pleasure, intimacy and desire. In the process, she realises her obsession isn’t the problem – far from it, in fact. Rather, it’s the solution.

Brilliantly executed with a joyous message at its core, This is Not A Book About Benedict Cumberbatch is a welcome reminder for all women to find what you like, make space for it, then love it without shame, fear or apology.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.