Listen to a sample

What to expect


***An exclusive podcast episode included with its very own twisty ending! Get it now!!!***

You think you’d know a killer if you met one?

Think again.

When Isla McKenzie is brutally mugged, it’s her boyfriend Zach who’s there for her, who moves in to look after her when she can barely bring herself to leave the house.

But then something else happens, right on their doorstep. And it’s almost like someone’s out to get her…

Can Isla and Zach find out the truth before it’s too late? …Or at least before the secrets they’re hiding from each other surface?

Because those could be even deadlier

From the USA Today bestselling author Sam Carrington comes an absolutely compelling psychological thriller that will make you question how well you know those closest to you—and how safe you ever are. Perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors,The Girl on the Train, and Gillian Flynn.

Readers are loving The Couple on Maple Drive:

‘A gripping, on the edge of your seat sort of book helped by the fantastic narration… [it] brought the characters to life and made it all the more engrossing.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Phew! This is a real edge of your seat gripping story. My heart was pounding and I was screaming… Sam Carrington certainly knows how to ramp up the tension!’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Wow! This is a fantastic book and I loved it so much!… I found myself listening whenever I had a spare moment… It was so addictive and it really reeled me in…It felt as though I was watching a movie and was part of the show.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I absolutely loved the audio version. The narrator had a voice that captivated you…This is certainly a book you will want to read or even better listen too.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘The narrators… added so much more depth and tension to the story… [It] made me audibly ‘gasp’… creepy, dark, gritty and tense… packs a punch.’ @thebookworm_reviews ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Critics Review

  • PRAISE FOR SAM CARRINGTON

    ‘A claustrophobic, creepy tale of secrets, betrayal and deceit. Well-written and well-plotted. Very well done!’ Diane Jeffrey

    ‘Lacing everyday life with menace is Sam Carrington’s greatest strength as a storyteller.’ The Times

    ‘The premise grabbed me right away and the novel itself didn’t disappoint! It’s a creepy, compelling read, full of twists and turns with well-drawn, unreliable characters that kept me guessing!’ Sarah Pearse

    ‘A pacy read, packed with surprises. Will keep you on your toes.’ Jane Corry

    ‘I devoured this story in one sitting’ Louise Jensen

    ‘A gripping exploration of twisted family secrets’ Cass Green

    ‘Expertly written … with plentiful twists and unforgettable characters.’ Caroline Mitchell

    ‘Keeps you guessing right to the end’ Sue Fortin

    ‘I read One Little Lie in one greedy gulp. A compelling thriller… I couldn’t put it down!’ Isabel Ashdown

    ‘A kick-ass page turner … I was knocked senseless by the awesome twist.’ John Marrs

    ‘A gripping read which moved at a head-spinning pace … I simply couldn’t put this book down until I reached the dramatic and devastating conclusion.’ Claire Allan

    ‘Engrossing psychological suspense… Sam Carrington had me hooked!’ Emma Curtis

    ‘Utterly original and thought provoking … This cries out to be made into a TV series.’ Amanda Robson

    Psychologist Connie Summers is a fascinatingly flesh-and-blood guide through this twisty thriller.’ Louise Candlish

    ‘Tense, convincing … kept me guessing’ Caz Frear

    ‘A claustrophobic psychological thriller that had me double checking my doors and windows were locked!’ Vicki Bradley

    ‘I devoured The Open House. There were so many unexpected twists; just when I thought I had everything worked out, bam! Everything flipped. It’s Sam Carrington’s best yet!’ Libby Carpenter

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.